Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Frog on a new souvenir sheet from South Africa

I would like to stay in the same country than for last post, South Africa, in order to share with you a souvenir sheet I recently got for my frog collection. The sheet has been issued on the 23rd of September 2011 and contains ten different stamps. Here is the item.

The souvenir sheet is dedicated to the Cape floral protected region. This region, that includes eight different protected areas, is the sixth UNESCO world heritage site in South Africa. It was included in 2004. The eight areas of the Cape floral protected region are:

- Table mountain
- De Hoop Natural reserve
- Boland mountain complex
- Groot Winterhoek wilderness area
- Swartberg mountain
- Boosmansbos wilderness area
- Cederberg wilderness area
- Baviaanskloof

The souvenir and the stamps designed by the artist Tobie Beele picture the diversity of flora and fauna in this area. Anti-clockwise, and starting with the frog stamp, the species pictured on the souvenir sheet are:

- the Purcell’s ghost frog (Heleophryne purcelli)
- the African clowless otter (Aonyx capensis)
- the bird of paradise (Strelitzia reginae) that takes it scientific name from Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz the queen consort of King George III
- the mealie heath (Erica patersonii)
- the Cape sugarbird (Promerops cafer)
- the Cape Aloe (Aloe ferox)
- the King protea (Protea cynaroides)
- the caracal (Caracal caracal)
- the Cape vulture (Gyps coprotheres)

This souvenir sheet reminds me a lot about another one issued in 2004 and dedicated to the Table Mountain area.

In this sheet the frog is a Table mountain ghost frog (Heleophryne rosei) that belongs to the same family (Heleophrynidae) than the one pictured on this new sheet.

No comments: